SHERRY'S BLOG

This blog will feature snippets of information about some of the topics in my books, stories about my travels, book reviews, and thoughts about life in general.  Feedback is always welcome.

RSS Feed

September 25, 2019

My husband and I spent most of August in Southern Africa. We love the outdoors, seeing animals in the wild, and the adventure of safaris so, for us, Africa is the perfect destination.  We’ve made several trips to East Africa and Southern Africa, but keep returning to the isolated wilds of Botswana.

This trip, we visited five different camps in three different regions: the watery Okavango Delta, the river-based Linyanti with its thousands of elephants, and the scenic Kalahari Plains. 


We also stayed at Mana Pools National Park in Zimbabwe.  Located on the Zambezi River, our camp nestled under huge ebony trees. One of its delights was that animals used the camp as a path to the river. That meant every time we stepped out our door, we had to be alert for the elephants, elands, and even a leopa...

March 1, 2019

Dear Readers,

It's only been a week, but so much has happened since the release of my fourth novel in the ​​Alexa

Williams suspense series, Dead of Winter.  The book has garnered a great amount of interest.  A big thanks to Whistlestop Bookshop for hosting the successful Dead of Winter Book Tour launch event.  They sold out!  I also wanted to pay respect to fellow thriller writers that have helped me spread the word about the book.

Thank you to...

Michael Niemann 

Susan Gourley

Jungle Red Writers with Hallie Ephron 

Dru's Book Musing

Elena Hartwell 

You can read their posts at the links provided above.  And please support their work as they are all wonderful writers.

If you're in Pittsburgh this week, come see me at the Mystery Lover's Bookshop in Oakmont, PA.  Look for more upcoming event...

December 14, 2018

Try this new read by fellow International Thriller Writer Carol Potenza with her debut, highly-acclaimed novel, Hearts of the Missing.  

Synopsis

When a young woman linked to a list of missing Fire-Sky tribal members commits suicide, Pueblo Police Sergeant Nicky Matthews is assigned to the case. As the investigation unfolds, she uncovers a threat that strikes at the very heart of what it means to be a Fire-Sky Native: victims chosen and murdered because of their genetic makeup. But these deaths are not just about a life taken. In a vengeful twist, the killer ensures the spirits of those targeted will wander forever, lost to their family, their People, and their ancestors. When those closest to Nicky are put in jeopardy, she must be willing to sacrifice everything—her career, her life, e...

December 3, 2018

Here's a new read published by fellow International Thriller Writer Nancy Bilyeau that could be a great read to cozy up to this holiday season.  Give it a try.

Synopsis

In eighteenth century London, porcelain is the most seductive of commodities. Fortunes are made and lost upon it. Kings do battle with knights and knaves for possession of the finest pieces and the secrets of their manufacture.

For Genevieve Planché, an English-born descendant of Huguenot refugees, porcelain holds far less allure; she wants to be an artist, a painter of international repute, but nobody takes the idea of a female artist seriously in London. If only she could reach Venice.

When Genevieve meets the charming Sir Gabriel Courtenay, he offers her an opportunity she can’t refuse; if she learns the secrets of porc...

November 25, 2018

I like to feature books from other authors in my blog.  This new book published by fellow International Thriller Writer Loretta Goldberg could be a great read to dive into this winter.  Give it a try.

Synopsis

Summer 1566. A glittering royal progress approaches Oxford. A golden age of prosperity, scientific advances, exploration and artistic magnificence. Elizabeth I’s Protestant government has much to celebrate.


But one young Catholic courtier isn’t cheering.


Conflicting passions—patriotism and religion—wage war in his heart. On this day, religion wins. Sir Edward Latham throws away his title, kin, and country to serve Catholic monarchs abroad.

But his wandering doesn’t quiet his soul, and when Europe’s religious wars threaten his beloved England and his family, patriotism prevails...

November 5, 2018

From time to time, I feature books from other authors.  This new book published by fellow International Thriller Writer Cynthia Kuhn could be right up your alley.  Give it a try.

Synopsis

English professor Lila Maclean knew drama would be involved when she agreed to consult on Stonedale University’s production of Puzzled: The Musical. But she didn’t expect to find herself cast into such chaos: the incomprehensible play is a disaster, the crumbling theater appears to be haunted, and, before long, murder takes center stage.

The show must go on—yet as they speed toward opening night, it becomes clear that other members of the company may be targeted as well. Lila searches for answers while contending with a tenacious historical society, an eccentric playwright, an unsettling psychic, a...

October 9, 2018

From time to time, I feature fellow International Thriller Writers' new book debuts.  Introducing S.L. Huang and her new release Zero Sum Game.  Give it a read and let her know what you think! 

Synopsis

A blockbuster, near-future science fiction thriller, S.L. Huang's Zero Sum Game introduces a math-genius mercenary who finds herself being manipulated by someone possessing unimaginable power…

Cas Russell is good at math. Scary good. The vector calculus blazing through her head lets her smash through armed men twice her size and dodge every bullet in a gunfight, and she'll take any job for the right price.

As far as Cas knows, she’s the only person around with a superpower...until she discovers someone with a power even more dangerous than her own. Someone who can reach directly into peopl...

September 4, 2018

Several times a month, I feature fellow International Thriller Writers' new book debuts.  Meet D.A. Bartley and her new release Blessed Be The Wicked.  Give it a read and let her know what you think! 

Synopsis

Detective Abish Taylor left Utah for a reason. But with her husband’s passing, it’s time to come home.  Reconnecting with her family means dealing with her past: the father she abandoned and the community she left behind. Her one escape is serving as the sole police detective in the small town of Pleasant View. But when the quiet Mormon suburb in the Wasatch Mountains is shaken by a macabre death—with the hallmarks of a sacred ritual dating back to the days of Brigham Young— Abbie is called into action.

As she uncovers the dark side of the picturesque neigh...

August 28, 2018

From time to time, I feature a fellow International Thriller Writer.  Meet Ellison Cooper.  Her dark writings may captivate your imagination.  Give her new book, CAGED, a try.

Synopsis

“Dark and mesmerizing…channels equal parts KATHY REICHS and THOMAS HARRIS…You will read till the bitter end…then sleep with the lights on!”
—Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling author

“I started and couldn’t stop.”
—F. Paul Wilson, New York Times bestselling author

CAGED is a gripping thriller debut for fans of Kathy Reichs, Thomas Harris, and Patricia Cornwell.

FBI neuroscientist Sayer Altair hunts for evil in the deepest recesses of the human mind. Still reeling from the death of her fiance, she wants nothing more than to focus on her research into the brains of serial killers. But when the...

June 20, 2018

From time to time, I feature a fellow International Thriller Writer.  Meet S.A. Stovall.  She has debuted her second book in the Vice City series called, "Vice Enforcer."  If you are looking to discover a new suspense author, try this one on for size.

Synopsis

Holding on to a life worth living can be hard when the nightmares of the past come knocking.

Eight months ago, Nicholas Pierce, ex-mob enforcer, faked his death and assumed a new identity to escape sadistic mob boss Jeremy Vice. With no contacts outside the underworld, Pierce finds work with a washed-up PI. It’s an easy enough gig—until investigating a human trafficking ring drags him back to his old stomping grounds.

Miles Devonport, Pierce’s partner, is top of his class at the police academy while single-handedly ho...

Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
Search By Tags
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • LinkedIn App Icon

© 2014 by Sherry Knowlton. Proudly created with Wix.com